Jurisdiction & Rules

Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means

The U.S. Constitution requires that all bills regarding taxation must originate in the House of Representatives. The Committee of Ways and Means is the chief tax-writing committee of the United States House of Representatives. Members of the Ways and Means Committee are not allowed to serve on any other House Committees unless they apply for a waiver from their party's congressional leadership. The Committee has jurisdiction over all taxation, tariffs, and other revenue-raising measures, as well as a number of other programs including:

  • Social Security
  • Unemployment insurance
  • Medicare
  • Enforcement of child support laws
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
  • Foster care and adoption programs


The Committee on Ways and Means has adopted rules for the 117th Congress. Click here to read the rules.

Previous rules for the Committee on Ways and Means:

116th Congress

115th Congress

114th Congress

113th Congress

112th Congress

111th Congress

110th Congress

109th Congress

108th Congress

107th Congress

106th Congress

105th Congress